## CHAPTER II.—CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT

## CONSPECTUS

	PAGE		PAGE
Part IConstitution of Canada	51	Part III.—Administrative Functions of the Federal Government	92
<ul> <li>Part I.— Constitution of Canada</li> <li>Part I.— Machinery of Government.</li> <li>SECTION I. THE FDERAL GOVERNMENTS.</li> <li>Subsection 2. The Legislature</li> <li>Subsection 3. The Judiciary</li> <li>Subsection 3. The Judiciary</li> <li>Subsection 1. Newfoundland</li> <li>Subsection 2. Prince Edward Island.</li> <li>Subsection 3. Nova Scotia</li> <li>Subsection 5. Quebec</li></ul>	51 54 54 54 58 70 73 74 75 76 76 77 78 81 82 83 84 83 84 85 87		92 92 98 105 109 119 124 124 124 126 130
ROYAL COMMISSIONS	91	Colombo Plan	132

NOTE.—The interpretation of the symbols used in the tables throughout the Year Book will be found facing p. 1 of this volume.

## PART I.—CONSTITUTION OF CANADA

The Canadian federal state was established by the British North America Act, 1867, which united the three British North American provinces of Canada, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia into one country, divided into four provinces, namely, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. British Columbia entered the Union in 1871 and Prince Edward Island in 1873. The Province of Manitoba was created in 1870, and the Provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta in 1905, out of portions of the territories formerly held by the Hudson's Bay Company and admitted to the Union in 1870. Newfoundland entered the Union in 1949. At the present time, therefore, Canada consists of ten provinces and the remaining territories known as the Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories.

The British North America Act of 1867 divided legislative and executive authority between Canada on the one hand and the provinces on the other. Judicial authority was not similarly divided, provincial and federal courts having jurisdiction with respect to both federal and provincial laws.

While the British North America Act of 1867 together with its subsequent amendments is popularly regarded as the Constitution of Canada, it is not an exhaustive statement of the laws and rules by which Canada is governed. The Constitution of Canada in its broadest sense includes other statutes of the United Kingdom Parliament (e.g., the Statute of Westminster, 1931), statutes of the Parliament of Canada relating to such matters as the succession to the Throne, the demise of the Crown, the Governor General, the Senate, the House of Commons,